Car hesitates when pressing the gas. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 10:12 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car hesitates when pressing the gas. Help!

Hello, I have a problem with my 99 tl. about 4-5 months i had the transmission replaced at the dealer which was under warranty. well soon after i noticed the car would hesitate/shake and make a big thump noise when i would press on the gas. This would happen from a standstill or when I brake and accelerate from a moving position. I assumed it had something to do with the transmission and brought it in about 2 weeks ago but the dealer said nothing was wrong with the transmission.

Could there be something wrong with the engine?

I'd appreciate any help. I'm not too good with cars

thanks.
Old 06-08-2006, 08:47 AM
B93P TL Owner

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Possibly your spark plugs. All it takes is for one to bad either bad, or not seated properly.
Old 06-08-2006, 10:49 AM
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
And why don't you ask the dealer what's wrong with your car ?
Since they replace your transmi and the problem start right after !!!!???
Old 06-08-2006, 11:34 AM
Not Asian

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Do you feel as if the motor is shifting back and forth. Sounds like motor mounts are a possiblity.
Old 06-08-2006, 03:35 PM
5th Gear

Thx for the response everyone.

mdavisii- hmm you might be right. how many miles should spark plugs be replaced?

phipark- I'm not sure what you mean by that if the motor is shifting back and forth. but all i know is when i hit the gas the engine starts revving and it takes a second for the car to move and when it does the whole car shakes.

ok i woudl have taken it into the dealer right after this started to happen but my family members have been borrowing the car for the past few months so i rarely get to drive it and i personally have been very busy. I know I don't deserve to own a car especially an acura! I should stick to an old beater civic.
Old 06-08-2006, 06:14 PM