02 TL accelerates on its own - nearly kills me

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2008, 04:46 AM
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
02 TL accelerates on its own - nearly kills me

Howdy all,

The damndest thing happened to me tonight and I have no idea what caused it. A mechanic won't be available to look at it until tomorrow, but I was wondering if anyone here might know what occured.

I was driving my car home tonight and just got on the highway. I was accelerating up to highway speeds, and everything was going just fine. I was just about to reach the speed limit so I took my foot off the gas, but the car kept accelerating on its own! Now before you ask, the cruise control was definately, 100% off. I don't use it and don't touch it.

Now I am a car novice. I had no idea what was going on so I thought maybe the gas pedal had become stuck so I tried giving it a quick, hard press to see if that might unstick it - that didn't do anything. I was in D5 this entire time and had to press hard on the breaks to stop the car from accelerating out of control and slow it down to a more reasonable speed. Everytime I would take my foot off the break, the car would accelerate again. On the advice of a person I got on the phone during all this, I tried downshifting to a lower gear, but that didn't seem to do anything. By this time I didn't know what to do. I managed to get the car down to around 15 km/hr and it was definately not going any slower than that. I couldn't figure out how else to stop the car, so I did the only thing I could think of - I shifted the car to park. This did stop the car, but the engine was revving VERY high and the tires were screeching in place. I immediately took out the key, and was now parked on the shoulder of the highway.