Sport Shift Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2001, 02:10 PM

Post Sport Shift Questions

Okay, I've mentally prepared myself to be humbled, though I'm sure most of the responses will be as genuine as my question.

I don't own a TL (gasp). However I've considered one on paper. Before going into a dealership, I'd like to have an idea of how the Sport Shift works so I don't look like an idiot. (Better here than there!)

I've been driving a standard for the past 10 years and am curious about the SS functionality - how does it work, how does it feel compared to manual transmition; does it lurch or is it smooth, and what is the shift response time compared to when it's in "automatic" mode.

Sorry I'm not more up on the lingo; as you see I'm a newbie. I've searched the other pages for this information but haven't found this kind of info.

Please use the following diagram if helpful (and if it shows up).

Thanks
Old 02-22-2001, 02:14 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,080 Likes on 661 Posts
Welcome to the board. Hope you get your TL. I love mine.

The biggest difference I had to get used to with SS is that you don't want to take your foot off the gas when shifting. I kept doing that for a while and realized it doesn't help.

Other than that, it's pretty smooth, certainly nothing like a manual trans. It's definitely something fun to use when driving on winding roads, or to fly up the acceleration lane when merging onto a highway. I love that one. The people behind you will be like, "What the f*ck does he have under the hood.

Good luck,

Neil

------------------
1999 Satin Silver Metallic 3.2 TL w/o Navigation
  • 18x8 Racing Hart C2s with 225/40ZR18 Dunlop SP Sport 9000
  • Comptech Springs, Sways, Exhaust, and Headers
  • Red AEM CAI
  • A'PEXi Digital VTEC AFC
  • Factory Underbody Kit and Spoiler
  • Clifford Intelliguard 9000 Alarm
  • Alpine 6 disk CD Changer
  • BEL 945i Cordless Radar Detector
  • Burlwood Shift Knob & Trunk Tray
  • 20% tint