My mechanics are idiots - Need technical ammo... Who has worked in a shop?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2008, 01:45 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry My mechanics are idiots - Need technical ammo... Who has worked in a shop?

To clarify, I work in a shop too, but I work with diesel - big stuff only. I pay my mechanic because I hate small cramped gas engines that I can't fit my hands into.

Ok, now for the long read...

I paid my mechanic to do my timing belt/water pump on 3/19/08. Since then, a coolant leak started. I checked to see where the coolant was coming from, and surprise, it's coming from the cover where the water pump sits. I check to see if they did any work at all, and yes, they did do the timing belt and water pump. See this thread for some clarification...

https://acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?t=184807

I take it in yesterday, 7/29 to get it checked out. They call a couple hours later informing me that the leak is NOT from the water pump, but from some other place very near the pump, like a cover in the jacketing. I think this is really odd, but tell them to go for it because they have been doing good work for me the last 3 years... until now.

So that brings us to today, 7/30. They call me and say - "Hey, we made a mistake, it IS the water pump seal, and we have the part (Napa water pump) warrantied. However, you are out of the 6000 mile warranty by about 1000 miles". We talk for a couple minutes and they tell me that they will split the cost of labor with me, and the part is no charge, leaving me with a bill of 168 dollars, about 200ish after tax. I agree this is ok, and tell them I will drop them a check and pick it up when I leave. Ok, here come the problems...