Difference on road between TL and TL-S

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2001, 05:35 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 4,614 Likes on 2,193 Posts
Difference on road between TL and TL-S

Hi folks,

I am new to AcuraTL.com, and I have a big decision to make. I've been drooling over the Acura TL series this year--so badly that I'm now willing to trade in my 2000 Intrepid (please don't laugh, it's been an excellent car, and for its size, I can drive it VERY aggressively in the twisties!). Another reason I'm willing to trade in is because it's time for me to return to the Honda family of *reliable* cars. I've owned several Hondas in the past and have been a fan of both Honda and Acura since the '80s (anyone got a 1990 FWS Prelude? my dream car in college).

The only decision left, folks, is whether to go TL or TL-S. I recently test drove both (neither as aggressively as I'd like, though ). I frankly didn't find that much difference between driving the TL and TL-S other than that the TL-S had, not surprisingly, better pickup from a stop, and that the TL-S was firmer. Both cars have exemplary communication with the road, have the sport shifter, and beat out my beautiful Intrepid in acceleration. I see people on this bboard who enjoy and mod both the TL and TL-S.

I've decided I'm going to buy a TL-series, without navi, and will be purchasing in about three weeks from now. So, I need help: TL or TL-S? Do I need to spend the extra money for the S? I can afford either, so cost isn't the issue. But is spending the extra 1-2k worth it? Thank you for your deep wisdom....

Bob
Old 11-23-2001, 05:55 PM
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, yes, yes. I have the TL-S and it's worth the extra dough. You get bigger wheels, firmer suspension (but not uncomfortably so), and a more powerful engine, as well as VSA, torque-sensitive steering and a more responsive steering wheel.