RL Maintenance Options

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2006, 10:36 AM
RL User

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
RL Maintenance Options

I am curious to know from members about your maintenance plans and approach for your RL.

Do you plan to use:
1. Dealer
2. Independent shop
3. DIY

Myself, I’m a check book mechanic. I have found a good independent shop for our Odyssey and previous Legend’s. Not sure if they can maintain the new RL. Is there any specialized equipment required?

I haven’t owned a brand new vehicle for a while, so the prospect of using a dealer for maintenance has not been a consideration given the price premium for their services. I’m also concerned about any warranty violations for work done outside the dealership. Is this a valid concern?

I’m also interested in comments about what kind of work you’re willing to do yourself (fluid changes being the obvious ones) and those services you’ll have the dealer perform versus and independent shop.

Look forward to your comments.
Old 11-08-2006, 10:38 AM
'06 RL

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Check your dealer's prices -- my Acura dealer's service rates are pretty competitive with independent shops in my area.

I wouldn't, for example, trust a non-Acura dealer to do maintenance on my SH-AWD system.
Old 11-08-2006, 11:05 AM
'05 Acura RL - CGP/Ebony

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by carrera
I am curious to know from members about your maintenance plans and approach for your RL.

Do you plan to use:
1. Dealer
2. Independent shop
3. DIY

[snip]

Look forward to your comments.
I take mine to the dealer. The prices are in line with others in the area and they certainly have a reason to try and treat me well (future sales). Also, their knowledge of this vehicle -- as complex as it is -- is (or at least it better be) superior to most of the independents. My dealer also offers a lifetime warranty on the vehicle's drive train if I have it serviced there.