do loaners cost money?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2007, 09:36 PM
Pro

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
do loaners cost money?

This might be a rather stupid question, but do loaners cost money? My gut feeling is that they don't. I'm taking in my RL for the recall and for a XM problem, and brake squeal, and I requested a loaner this time around, which turned out to be the TSX. It didn't cross my mind to ask if it would cost extra, but I figured it should be free right? I may have to fill the tank up, but I really have no clue as to what to expect, considering this is my first time getting a loaner from Acura. Thanks.
Old 12-21-2007, 09:47 PM
Torch & Pitchfork Posse

Received 1,806 Likes on 793 Posts
Loaner policies can vary from dealer to dealer.

Most Acura dealers supply a loaner, free of charge for service appointments. Not all Acura dealers will give you an Acura loaner car. It may be a rental car from a rental vendor. It is a good idea to inquire in advance of your appointment. If you are selective, your Service Advisor may better accomodate you knowing so.

My dealer uses Acura loaner cars (adorned with 'Courtesy Car' stickers on the back window). When my RL has been in for a scheduled service visit, my Service Advisor asks me 'what would you like to drive'? Nice, I've driven all the Acuras now. I have never paid for fuel used. If it is warranty work, the dealer may be charging a fee to Acura corporate for the loaner car use as part of the warranty work.

Also, you can make your appointment online via OwnerLink and it will ask if you will be needing a loaner car. If you mke the appointment online, you should also get a service appointment reminder sent to the car via AcuraLink (assuming you have your profile set up online with OwnerLink).

Also, most Acura dealers will wash and vacuum your RL (if you entrust anyone to do so!).