2008 RL vs TL?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2007, 10:05 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 RL vs TL?

Hey gang! I'm new to this neighborhood. I spend my time on the TL boards.

I bought my first Acura (2006 TL) about a year and a half ago. I loved that car but sadly it was stolen from an airport parking lot about two weeks ago. I am making it through therapy... mainly by getting right back on the horse. My wife and I hit the local Acura dealership to look at new 08s. The TL-S is very nice, but for the first time we gave the RL a hard look.

I love the sporty exterior of the TL, but honestly the interior appointments are no comparison to the RL. From the features, the sound system, and aesthetic design, the RL absolutely rocks.

On the road, the RL felt a little "mushy", not quite the thrust of the TL-S. I know the RL is heavier but I figured that with the big engine and the SHAWD it would be a tad bit more "punchy". That having been said, maybe it's good for my insurance not to drive around a little rocket ship like the TL-S.

Anyway, love to hear your opinions RL owners... and also just wanted to drop in a say hello! I plan to buy a new Acura once I recieve the insurance payment for my beloved TL. The question is... RL versus TL-S. I wish all choices in life were this great!

~ Steve
Old 10-24-2007, 10:39 PM
2012 Cadillac CTS-V Coupe

Received 95 Likes on 66 Posts
You're observations are correct in that the RL isn't as "edgy" as the TL, then again, many would argue that's what makes the RL such an attractive car. No disrespect to the TL, but the RL is a much more refined vehicle. Read through the many threads. What you'll find is that this car grows on you as time goes by. You have to live with it for a while to REALLY appreciate it.

If you think it rocks now, I gaurantee that you'll feel even stronger about it after you put some miles on the odometer.

THe RL has to be the most underappreciated car out there.;