Repainting Advice Needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2006, 07:24 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Repainting Advice Needed

My first original thread on Acurazine! I have done some searching, but haven't found a satisfactory answer to some paint questions.

Everyone loves pics, so here's my baby '01 CLS SSM (bone stock). I am the original owner:

[IMG][/IMG]

She is pretty clean, but the blemishes are adding up and I'm going to repaint next spring. I intend to use the same color and want a quality paint job with the following characteristics:

Matches original color
More durable than Acura paint
Deep shine

I'm not a paint expert, so what type of paint am I looking for? I assume it will be a base-coat, clear-coat - but I don't even know what to ask for and don't want to be snowed by a body shop.

Caveats: this is (and will remain) my daily driver. I'm not going to paint the engine bay, door jambs, inside of trunk - etc. That paint is in good condition and I don't want to spend that much money on my daily driver.

I'm willing to spend about $2K. There are some minor scratches that must be repaired, but nothing that could be called a "dent."

If any of the paint "pros" could weigh in, I'd appreciate it. I'm really looking for paint types (enamel, poly, lacquer etc) and any good/bad experiences or advice. If anyone happens to be in, or near, the Montgomery AL area and can recommend a shop that would also be appreciated.
Old 11-13-2006, 02:43 AM
Racer

I want to paint my baby as well, after having her out here in Cali, the hood is to shit now.
Old 11-13-2006, 07:48 AM
Team Owner

Received 599 Likes on 417 Posts
The thing you have to consider is getting the paint to match and also to have a good quality job.