questions about changing brake fluid

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2005, 03:38 PM
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
questions about changing brake fluid

I'm looking to change out my brake fluid, but I have a couple questions. I looked in the FAQ section and searched, but I couldn't really find anything.

- I hear people talk about having to "bleed" the lines, but I have no clue how to do that. Also, do I HAVE to do that in order to change the fluid? So, what I'm really wondering is, is it the same method as an oil change as in: drain oil, fill oil?

- What are the steps that I have to go through and do I need any special equipment? Is there a drain plug for the brake fluid? I'm a newb with the brake service.

- Would it be more worth it to just get it done at a local gas station or something?

- What brake fluid would you all recommend?
Old 05-03-2005, 03:56 PM
Suzuka Master

ewww. you are full of questions.

go see a mechanic if you have never done any brake work on a car.

Castrol GTLMA is the best brake fluid you can buy...
Old 05-03-2005, 03:57 PM
Burning Brakes

If I remember correctly from one of the repair books I read.. Bleed the line means disconnect the break fluid tube at the caliber area and let the fuild drain.
Old 05-03-2005, 04:01 PM
Burning Brakes

I think what you want to do is flush the break, not bleed. Bleed is just to get the bubbles out..

http://faq.f650.com/FAQs/BrakeMaintenanceFAQ.htm
Old 05-03-2005, 04:05 PM
Drifting

Originally Posted by runnerX
If I remember correctly from one of the repair books I read.. Bleed the line means disconnect the break fluid tube at the caliber area and let the fuild drain.
no, no, no. don't do that.

there is a screwed-in nipple on the brake caliper that is covered with a rubber cap. remove the cap and attach a piece of clear hose to the nipple. loosen the nipple and allow the fluid to drain until there are no air bubbles. that's not the entire procedure, but just the part that involves the calipers.