Getting Release Bearing Replaced, Time for Mods?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008 | 08:35 AM
Professional Newbie

Getting Release Bearing Replaced, Time for Mods?

So I've read through a few threads on this topic, though none have really answered my questions and I don't want to hijack so I'm starting my own.

I have an '04 with a little over 30k miles on it. I've been hearing some release bearing squeal for a couple months and I'm going to bite the bullet and go through with getting it replaced in a few weeks.

Obviously now the question is, can I control myself and not succumb to my urge to mod while the mechanic has the transmission out?

I still don't have a good understanding of the lightweight flywheel. From what I've heard it sounds like it lets you rev up a little quicker when the clutch is depressed (like during a downshift), but it's the same when the engine is under load? Also, it makes stalling much easier, particularly if I'm driving in the city all the time, yes? To me it sounds like the shortcomings outweigh any benefit.

However, would the shortcomings of the lightweight flywheel be mitigated by a performance clutch?

A couple notes/questions:
1) I'm only 6 months out of my Acura powertrain warranty, is there any sense in calling up Acura Corporate Customer Care and trying to get them to honor this repair?
2) I drive 8 miles stop and go in and out of Boston 5 days a week
3) Although I don't have any immediate plans to sell...how would going with an aftermarket clutch and flywheel effect resale?
4) How much would I LOVE a new clutch/flywheel setup?
Old 12-12-2008 | 10:14 AM
Drifting

With a lighter flywheel, the engine will still rev quicker under load. Look at it this way, there's less energy being used to accelerate the mass of the flywheel which in turn makes that energy available to turn the wheels.

As to the rest of your questions:
1) You can try but don't hold your breath.