Comptech rear bar installed

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2003 | 12:33 PM
Instructor

Comptech rear bar installed

It took one hour. I used to be a mechanic and have all the tools
but my garage is unorganized.

The pins on the verticle link just spin when backing off the bolt.
I used a thin channel lock to hold the pin from turning.
The space between the link and the bar is small to get
a hold of the pin, I had
trouble finding a pliers that will fit in there. There is a very
small size vice grip available but I couldn't find mine.

I had to remove the rear wheels. It takes 13 and 14mm
wrenches and sockets. I think the slots in the brackets are
too large for the bolt heads, I will install some flat washers
under the bracket bolts next time I am under the car.

Otherwise very nice quality piece.

Tim
Old 12-31-2003 | 01:01 PM
Audi Driving Snob

There is a 5mm hex in the end of the end link bolt..you can pop an alan wrench in there to keep it from turning. I also installed the flat washers they are necessary IMO. INstead of taking the wheels off I just unbolted the rear air difuser(hollow plastic) and let it hang down. Gave me all the wiggle room I needed. So what do you think abou tthe performance now that you have it installed? I find it to be noticeably different when really pushing the car.
Old 12-31-2003 | 03:34 PM
Three Wheelin'

i just put my car on jack stands and did it. took about 20 minutes. i would have been able to fit under there if it werent for my pro kit drop
Old 12-31-2003 | 08:23 PM
Instructor

geez now you tell me, I didn't see the hex, that would be much
better. I removed the wheels to pull the bar out one side.
I've read some things on these boards about the rear bar
but never heard about the hex before.

The handling is alot different. I hung it out in some exit ramps
today and felt the rear coming around. I'll need a little more time
on familiar roads to quantify the difference, it appears to be ovesteering now and may not be neutral.