shifting question for mt

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2005, 11:28 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
shifting question for mt

When shifting, do you have to left of the gas completely before you press the clutch pedal? Everyone keeps talking about a smooth transmission but when I have passengers, I can see thier heads move back and forth as i shift through the gears. When I let off the gas, the engine revs drop and I when I press the gas pedal, there is a delay when the engine picks up and when it reaches the desired rpm I let the clutch back in. This motion is too slow, am I missing something? I am new to driving mt.
Old 02-01-2005, 06:54 AM
Safety Car

Received 312 Likes on 198 Posts
DBW and the big ratio jump between 1st & 2nd is tne major cause for head bobbing. I have now been driving my TSX for 20 months and I still get the head bobbing effect.
Old 02-01-2005, 07:03 AM
Moderator Alumnus

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
You'd have to shift so slowly to prevent the head bobbing that you wouldn't be accelerating quick enough to keep up with the traffic.

Gonna have to live with it I guess..
Old 02-01-2005, 02:09 PM
Team Owner

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Maybe your passangers are just keeping rythm with the stereo?

Old 02-01-2005, 05:59 PM
Safety Car

Received 312 Likes on 198 Posts
Originally Posted by sauceman
You'd have to shift so slowly to prevent the head bobbing that you wouldn't be accelerating quick enough to keep up with the traffic.

Gonna have to live with it I guess..
Head bobbing can be GOOD in a car
Old 02-01-2005, 08:34 PM
Instructor

I never let my foot off the gas completey. I ease up on the gas and slightly press the clutch. When I shift, I only push the clutch down about a quater of the way and barely lift the gas. I have never noticed head bobbing before, but I will look the next time I have a passenger.
Old 02-01-2005, 11:42 PM
Just dial 1911

Received 1 Like on 1 Post