moving & insurance rate changess..

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2004 | 08:58 PM
Instructor

moving & insurance rate changess..

i'm probably going to be moving in the next month or two so i called up progressive today to see what my rate would be after i move. the results were a bit shocking.

i used to live in ohio, my rates were decent but then i graduated from college and the place where i work is right outside of cincinnati in northern kentucky. so i ended up moving to ky to save a commute, etc. well, after buying my tsx my insurance shot up a ton. i figured it was just b/c of the tsx...

so i'm moving back to ohio and getting a nice loft in downtown. i figured insurance would be insane for downtown cincinnati, well guess what? its not. in fact is almost 90$ a month CHEAPER than living in the suburbs of northern kentucky.

the only thing i can figure is KY is a no-fault state... but 90$ a month difference??
Old 03-08-2004 | 09:40 PM
Instructor

Man, I feel your pain. I graduated from college in December and moved here to Dallas for a job in January. Back in NC, my insurance was running about 650 for 6 months. But now, when I called Geico to change addresses I had to get a new policy. So keeping the exact same options, they wanted to quadrouple my rate to like 2748 for 6 months!! Fuck you Geico It gets even better that the woman tried to tell me that I was lucky to pay that and I should be happy. Morale of the story, I manged to call Progressive and got an awesome 1400 premium Guess its better than 500+ a month. Gotta love the insurance companies... bunch of damn snakes..
Old 03-09-2004 | 10:46 AM
Team Owner

Wolfpack, I sypathize but prolix was making a point of his insurance being $90/mo. LESS in downtown Cincy than in Kentucky. Have you guys seen the insurance rates in NJ? Read some of the posts (do a search). The folks that live there are absolutely getting raped.
Old 03-09-2004 | 10:52 AM
Instructor