Diesel in a gas engine?

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2004 | 01:20 PM
Moderator Alumnus

Question Diesel in a gas engine?

I am not an engineer or an ME. The knowledge I have about mechanics and it's functions is knowledge gathered from the most part by doing research on the internet and reading magazines.

This next question may seem dumb, and probably may well be. But here it goes anyway.

I know that a conventionnal gas engine will support only so much compression before it starts to detonate, ie: 12:1 with 94 octane.

Inversely, I know that a diesel engine is basically a detonation engine.

Given also that some very high compression gas engines (with either a high CR, or lots of boost) supposedly can work with kerosene, a fuel halfway between gas and diesel used mostly for aircraft purposes, and usually very costly.

Would it then be possible that a high CR gas engine, say 12:1, with crazy boost, say 25 psi, would be possible to make it work on diesel fuel, ignite it with a spark, and have it work detonation-free?

I know some are experimenting with propane, and it supposedly has very high boost/CR tolerances, but I was wondering about diesel...

thanks.
Old 04-06-2004 | 01:58 PM
Pro

Diesel detonates at approximately 18-22 bar. You would need maybe 12PSI or so of boost on a gas engine like the TSX to achieve this. Of course, I am sure other things would need to be changed (catalytic converter, valve timing, fuel injectors, etc).

Probably more trouble than it would be worth.
Old 04-06-2004 | 02:08 PM
Racer

how would you achieve that initial detonation to get the engine started? I'm guessing this isn't entirely impossible, but by the time you were done working on the engine to get it diesel ready you would have been better off both in price and performance just buying a diesel car to start with.
Old 04-06-2004 | 02:19 PM
Moderator Alumnus

Originally posted by KingV