Chris Bangle: The Choice of Difference

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2003, 10:32 PM
Moderator Alumnus

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Post Chris Bangle: The Choice of Difference

There is almost not a day when I read threads here criticizing BMW's Chris Bangle design about nearly all of BMW's car models now.

Admittedly, the BMW design has grown up on me, and I even surprised myself at falling in love at first sight with the new 3, 4 and 5 series. This, I think, may be due to an interview with Chris Bangle I read in spring 2002, giving some insight as to what BMW want their cars to be perceived like, and how BMW themselves perceive the cars they build.

This interview is sourced from Sport Auto #482 (March 2002), a French sports and exotic car magasine. Now, I do the translating, so if there are some mistakes or bad phrasing, please be lenient, I am not a professional translater:

The Choice Of Difference

Needless to say, a debate goes on about the laest BMWs. At the center of controvesy: Chris Bangle, director of design of the Bavarian constructor. Here are his explanations on his choices.

Let's be franc: the present BMW style creates a certain unease. Without being the most outgoing,