Acura Navi System... Aftermarket Options?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2008, 10:31 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Acura Navi System... Aftermarket Options?

Hi all,

Newbie here! Currently driving a brand new black 2008 TSX. My question is this: I love the car, but occasionally wish that I had sprung for the navi system (I really waver back and forth on this). If I decide that I actually DO want to have the Acura Navi system installed, is there a way to have it added aftermarket as an accessory? I realize that I'd probably end up paying a pretty penny for a dealer install, but I'd really rather have the Acura Navi to an aftermarket like Garmin or TomTom. Does anyone know if I could actually get the Acura Navi now that I've already purchased a vehicle without one?

Thanks!

CBLW
Old 02-21-2008, 11:20 AM
Racer

Received 15 Likes on 6 Posts
No way to get the OEM Navi installed unless you do it by yourself. The dealer won't do it since it's done at the factory in Japan. There are threads about ppl installing it themself if you can get the parts but it does not seem easy. There will be alot of wiring needed since the Bluetooth and Speakers are routed through it, not to mention the steering wheel buttons needed for the voice recognition.

Your'e right that the Acura Navi is great. I have an 02 TL w/ Navi but the Navi screen on the TSX is much larger w/ better features.
Old 02-21-2008, 11:51 AM
Cruisin'

Ok, not to get absurdly entrenched in my possible desire to do this, but given that Acuras are basically just Hondas with bells and whistles attached, and Honda obviously has some factories in the States, would it be possible to research going through an actual Honda FACTORY to have the navi added? It's hard to imagine Honda NOT wanting to take my money for something if they have the ability to do so. I def. wouldn't want to do the install myself. Just curious...

Thanks so much for the help!
Old 02-21-2008, 12:58 PM
Racer