1-2 Shift?!

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2004 | 01:44 PM
Cruisin'

1-2 Shift?!

Hello all. Before I start this thread I would like to inform everybody that I've been driving a TSX from my neighbor while he's been out of town for the past week. I will also say I've been driving manual transmission cars of many types for 9 years. With that said, I think the 1-2 shift on this car is fairly rough. My current car is a 2000 Audi A4. That shift is ultra smooth with no percieved power drop at all. When I drive this car I tach it up to about 3500, and even with a smooth transfer it seems like I can't keep up with the minivan ahead of me. If I try and let up sooner it feels realy jerky. Now I'm not jumping on this car, but I'm wondering if anybody out there could tell me a more proper way to 1-2 shift. This car is wonderful. Handling is crisp. All other shifts are great. I couldn't believe how fast I was going on the highway the other day. In any event, all help would be appreicated. Thanks

AKeaton
Old 01-22-2004 | 02:10 PM
fdl
Senior Moderator

hey keaton this has been discussed many times here. A search might help you out. There are 2 issues with the 1-2 shift. The first is a notchiness that seems to get better after time but never really goes away.

The other problem (if you want to call it a problem) is the gearing. I , and many others here, feel that the gear ratios of 1st and 2nd are too far apart. So a shift to second causes a large drop in rpms. I have also argued that this is affecting the acceleration of the car as well.

Applying a litte gas into second and coming off the clutch slowly seems to help for normal driving.

Ideally a shorter second gear would have made for a much better shift, and better acceleration. We've got 6 gears to work with so to me thats even more reason to do it. But unfortunately though this would mean you would need a shift to 3rd to get to 60 mph and honda wants to keep 0-60 a 1 shift exercise.
Old 01-22-2004 | 02:15 PM
Pro