Front end clunking/rattling noise

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2013, 04:45 PM
7th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front end clunking/rattling noise

Okay, I'm sure you guys might be tired of seeing posts like this, but I will be as specific as possible. First things first, my name is Amol and I am new to this forum. I am not new to working on cars however. I used to be a mechanic working at a BMW specialty shop and currently own a 1989 325i and a 2002 325i. I am looking to get some insight on typical issues regarding the suspension on a 2008 RDX. This car is my fathers and well, he can't really work on it himself, so I created a account to get some help from the acura community and hopefully solve my problem.

Anyways, enough about me! LOL

The problem I am currently experiencing is that whenever I go over bumps, be it very small bumps or large speed bumps, slow or fast, frequent or irregular, I hear a clunking/rattling noise up front. I took a look underneath today, checked the sway bar links, CAB's, springs, axles and shocks, but could not find anything that seemed out of place. Everything looks tight, but when you hear the noise, something sounds loose. At first I thought it was the rusting heat shield on the cat, which I removed the bottom portion and tightened down the top portion. That, however, did not remedy the situation. It sounds too loud to be something that small anyways. I'm thinking some mount, maybe engine mounts, trans mounts or the strut mounts. But when I looked under there, everything looked normal, nothing loose or out of place. Is there anything commonly causing this type of noise on these cars? This is the SH-AWD turbo model if that helps.
Old 10-31-2013, 05:15 PM
Hot Ass!

Received 157 Likes on 124 Posts
Did any of the bushings look cracked or deformed?
Old 10-31-2013, 05:17 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 609 Likes on 493 Posts
Have had a similar noise for a year or so. It finally got bad enough for me to find it...sway bar link.