Fix: Dimming lighting when using blinkers

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2007, 07:42 AM
Bagel Bomber

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Post Fix: Dimming lighting when using blinkers

I've been chasing this problem down for a few years now, 3 to be exact. For reference:

http://www.acura-cl.com/forums/showthread.php?t=159031

When using my blinkers, the lights in the car, including headlights at nighttime would dim in response to the increased load the blinkers were drawing. It was not only the blinkers, it was any load put on the car, including sun roof, heated seats, windows, anything. Well, my alternator finally went out recently and I had it towed to Pohanka Acura. They replaced the alternator and battery. They found a bad diode. I was hoping the new alternator would fix this problem, but it didn't. After being invited back to have them look at the car again they were able to fix the problem. This is word for word what was written on my paper work:

"Found virtually every load in the vehicle receiving varied voltage input when blinkers were in use. Inconsistent voltage causing any light to have a slight strobe or flash effect. Determined fault to be present in every circuit suggesting a charging system error. Examined the "ELD" (Electrical Load Detector). Found ELD supplying PCM with varying and inconsistent commands/inputs, thus forcing the PCM to constantly switch the alternator from high to low output, causing a vehicle wide condition. Suspect after market bulbs of varying and difference from stock resistance causing an average amperage draw slightly different than stock. The new average draw falls in a gray area of the ELDs logic mapping software, making it difficult /impossible for the ELD via PCM to correctly command high/low operation at idle. If loads are added/taken away, or RPM brought up, problem diminishes. Bypassed ELD to create an always high condition/command for the alternator. This will have zero adverse effects."