Cleaning Rotary Air Control…

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 08:55 AM
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cleaning Rotary Air Control…

On my ’98 2.3L CL…

I’m going to be replacing my throttle body soon due to some corrosion on the coolant lines into them….

While I’m in there replacing hoses and cleaning things out should I also remove and clean the rotary air control? I just want to be prepared with gaskets and such. Any insight would be great…
Old 07-17-2007, 11:52 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by nickbeee
On my ’98 2.3L CL…

I’m going to be replacing my throttle body soon due to some corrosion on the coolant lines into them….

While I’m in there replacing hoses and cleaning things out should I also remove and clean the rotary air control? I just want to be prepared with gaskets and such. Any insight would be great…
Hey, I'm not a mechanic but I cleaned my TB last weekend, and did my valve adjustment. No sweat. But I can't emphasize enough how valuable a good torque wrench is, especiall if you work on your car. But I'm a bit confused by the "rotary air control". What is that.
I pulled out the plates on the TB and celaned the coolant gunk that collected in there. It's a thick pastey residue. I like the honda manifolds, always have and will. They are definitely efficient but are prone to carbon collection if you don't drive aggressive occassionaly. Like my brother's Accord ,2.3 VTec. he drives like my grandmother and complains of carbon collecting inside. but then again it's an automatic.
Old 07-17-2007, 01:08 PM
Racer

I have a torque wrench but no manual,,,, What are the values for the TB bolts / nuts...
Old 07-17-2007, 02:40 PM
Racer

BTW, the part I'm talking about removing and cleaning is part #9 here:

I have the gasket on order for this puppy...
Old 07-17-2007, 08:12 PM
Intermediate