Radio won't reset with correct code after battery disconnect - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine TL Community > Second Generation TL (1999-2003) > Problems & Fixes
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendor DirectoryGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2010, 6:40 PM   #1
gheacock
New Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Radio won't reset with correct code after battery disconnect

Acura TL, 2002:
I changed the battery but couldn't reset the radio with the security code I had from when I bought the car. I read that there could be interference from the antenna and some one had suggested disconnecting the antenna as a solution, then enter the code. This was cumbersome and I could not remove all of the trim to get to the back of the radio. I read that some one drove down to an underground garage to get rid of all radio signals and then entered the code and it worked.
I was very skeptical, but had nothing to lose. I drove down to the 2nd underground level of our local hospital's parking garage and then entered the code. IT WORKED!
I don't know why it works, but if you're having this problem with an Acura, it definitely works. And, as long as you can get underground away from radio signals, it really works.
Hope this helps some one fix their radio.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
gheacock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 7:15 PM   #2
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 31,127
Thanks: 349
Thanked 758 Times in 706 Posts
Points: 40,579, Level: 100
Points: 40,579, Level: 100 Points: 40,579, Level: 100 Points: 40,579, Level: 100
Activity: 36.1%
Activity: 36.1% Activity: 36.1% Activity: 36.1%
welcome to the forum
you will find all the radio tips in the DIY section
the underground parking is a great trick~
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 8:52 PM   #3
totaledTL
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
totaledTL's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 52
Posts: 2,337
Thanks: 10
Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts
Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55 Points: 7,132, Level: 55
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Don't see any radio tips there-

There is a link in there that describes how to remove the trim & console to get to the radio.

Last edited by totaledTL; 12-12-2010 at 8:55 PM.
totaledTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:36 AM   #4
01tl4tl
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 54
Posts: 31,127
Thanks: 349
Thanked 758 Times in 706 Posts
Points: 40,579, Level: 100
Points: 40,579, Level: 100 Points: 40,579, Level: 100 Points: 40,579, Level: 100
Activity: 36.1%
Activity: 36.1% Activity: 36.1% Activity: 36.1%
really? I know there is a section full of radio code tricks somewhere,,hmmmm
01tl4tl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:46 AM   #5
Micheeellee
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Micheeellee's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orange County
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Points: 1,328, Level: 20
Points: 1,328, Level: 20 Points: 1,328, Level: 20 Points: 1,328, Level: 20
Activity: 0.1%
Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1% Activity: 0.1%
Guess what! I went down a parking structure and i tried the radio code and it actually worked.
Micheeellee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 1:36 AM   #6
xtremex626
Regional Coordinator (SoCal)
2003 Acura TL
 
xtremex626's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (1)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SoCal SGV 626
Age: 22
Posts: 2,461
Thanks: 73
Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts
Points: 18,728, Level: 86
Points: 18,728, Level: 86 Points: 18,728, Level: 86 Points: 18,728, Level: 86
Activity: 0.9%
Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9% Activity: 0.9%
^ lucky you. everytime my radio askes for a code, i always gotta take everything apart and disconnect the antenna from the back, reconnect, and put everything back together! such a hassle and you lose all your memory seat and mirror positions!
__________________
2003 AM TL-S - Retired
2003 BO GS300 SportDesign - Retired
1998 BO Lexus LS400 - Stock

xtremex626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 1:36 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2002, 2006, acura, acurazine, battery, changed, code, codes, disconnect, disconnected, radio, reset, resetting, tl, trick, tsx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup