Type of buffer pad versus grade of polish

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2009, 02:15 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Type of buffer pad versus grade of polish

Another newbie question -

I've been researching, because I'm having trouble getting rid of the spider webs on my brand new 09 TSX.

I tried using CG Pro Polish, but after the first try it didn't seem to do much. Now this MIGHT be because I didn't break down the polish with the buffer enough (I'm a newbie), so I'm going to try again....

but as I've been researching this CG Pro-Polish, I came across the following quote, from another forum -

Though you're not making much sense, I'll try and clarify things for you. Rule of thumb is to start with the least aggressive approach. In this case, start with AIO on LC green CCS pad, the less aggressive. If AIO doesn't remove your swirls, move to a more aggressive pad, ie: orange. If that doesn't work, move up to ProPolish on Green, then Pro Polish on Orange. You shouldn't need a compound to remove swirls.

Now this quote brings up a question for me, which is what is the difference between measuring the abrasiveness of the buffer pad, versus the abrasiveness of the polish?

Meaning, if I'm trying to start with the "least aggressive" approach (as suggested in this post above), what is the difference in using an abrasive pad with a mild polish, versus say an abrasive polish, and a mild pad?
Old 06-15-2009, 06:34 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 122 Likes on 99 Posts
least aggressive polish gets a white pad (using a PC). more aggressive polishes and compounds get orange. buffer speed should be 4-6 and the polish has to break down to be effective.
Old 06-15-2009, 07:05 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 293 Likes on 253 Posts
Originally Posted by TSXinSouthBayCalifornia