New to detailing, still can't figure out the difference between polish and wax

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2008, 01:26 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to detailing, still can't figure out the difference between polish and wax

Anyone able to explain the difference between the 2? Also, which is better?

I am new to detailing and car washing altogether (i've decided to adopt this hobby since my car is black and i don't want to risk damages). I have educated myself (thanks to this forum) on the proper car wash process including what to use to dry the car and how to do it.

I have all avenues covered (well, the verdict on how to wash my rims is still pending), but I need to know if I should use a polish or a wax?

Also how do I properly apply a polish or wax? I know when drying the car I will be using a Waffle Weave drying towel with a "pat dry" technique. However, is it after the drying that I should apply the polish or wax or what?

Any help guys would be appreciated. I am real confused in regards to polish and wax. Based on definitions I've read, I think just a polish is suffecient?

Thanks much guys
Old 09-24-2008, 02:19 AM
The Old Grey Whistle Test

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Q. What’s the difference between a wax and a polish?

A. Wax- is designed as a sacrificial protection; they can improve the shine but are very specific in their purpose, protection.

Polish- is an abrasive product that can reduce or eliminate surface imperfections, but doesn't provide surface protection. They will create a high gloss by burnishing the paint surface, the darker the colour the more dramatic. (Section 1)

See article Frequently Asked Questions - http://detailingwiki.com/index.php5?...sked_Questions
Old 09-24-2008, 02:31 AM
Racer

car must be dry and preferably free of contaminants (Clay Bar) before polishing or waxing.

also wheels just spray a wheel cleaner, let it dwell scrub with an old microfiber mitt with car wash solution and your good to go.