How to protect paint?? Bird droppings.

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2004, 08:47 PM
Happy in the Abyss

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to protect paint?? Bird droppings.

My car is usually garaged, however, there are times when it actually is used. Bird dropping was on my car for approximately 2 hours and then I washed it off. It left a permanent mark in the paint/clearcoat which I haven't been able to rub out. Car had recent Carnuba on it. Any recommendations for something to protect Acura paint that is better than wax?
I note that I have owned BMWs for several years and I have never experienced paint damage from birds before - seems like very poor paint on the TL.

Any help would be appreciated.

Jim
Old 09-07-2004, 09:01 PM
100k miles club

what kind of wax are you using? is that what carnuba is? i use Meguiars NXT, one coat and it's been good so far. longest i left bird doo doo on my car was about 6 hours out in the sun while i was at work. i then used Meguiars Quick Detailer to get it off and it didn't leave a mark
Old 09-07-2004, 09:04 PM
Moderator Alumnus

Received 86 Likes on 30 Posts
http://www.acura-tl.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93421
Old 09-07-2004, 09:06 PM
Does anyone read this

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
There was another thread in hear about a guys paint being damaged by bird shite and my paint was damaged too. I think the conclusion was there wasn’t much to protect the paint if the bird droppings where left on the paint for a long period of time. The best way was to get it off your paint ASAP. They said to carry a bottle of spray wax or a bottle of water mixed with something but can’t remember. I guess bird droppings are very acidic and eat at the paint.

Edit: oops looks like some one found it. Must have replied at the same time
Old 09-07-2004, 09:10 PM
Cruisin'