How much UPP do I need and other newbie questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2006, 10:03 AM
Outta my way!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How much UPP do I need and other newbie questions

Hi gyus,

finaly got a 2 car garage and decided to invest some money in detailing tools/products. Last time I detailed cars using PC was about 10 years ago, so not exactly a newbie here, but with the advent of polymers and foam pads and MF I am a bit lost.. Help please!

I decided to get the following products:

PC set with 6" foam pads
Sonus pad and MF wash

SMR - Sonus SFX1,2 and 3 - seems like more value and precision compare to USMR.

Polishers - UPC and Klasse AIO. Klasse is widely used, UPC seems like a new product?

UPP - the BIG question is how much I need? I can't seem to find 64oz bottle on any site I have 2 cars to detail - 99Accord and 04TL, will do one coat only, both cars are silver, please advise. I usualy do waxing twice a year.

Also, does UPP deliver better results then Klasse SG ? Basically I am thorn between Klasse and Four Star products in polishing and sealant department.

How often woud I need a 4" pad, should I get it at all ?
My paint is in good/like new condition, periodicaly use Turtle compound/3M hand glaze/Meg's Gold Class wax on both cars, all by hand for now.

And a finalle question: I already clayed/polished/waxed my TL a few weeks ago. Now, once I get my hands on PC and all of the above, should I just polish it with UPC or AIO, and then cover with UPP or is there any more steps I need to strip existing (Meg's Gold Class) wax ?

OK, now realy the last one: when using foam pads with PC, if I just finished polishing with say blue pad, can I use it right away to apply a sealer or do I need to use another clean pad?

Thanks a lot!
Old 04-28-2006, 11:05 AM
Outta my way!!

And how long is shelf life of the above products? don't want to buy too much and then find out it's gone bad.
Old 04-28-2006, 11:43 AM
Driver/Detailer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts