First attempt in Detailing, need help!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2011, 12:19 AM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First attempt in Detailing, need help!!

Hi everyone, as the title says I'm about to detail my car maybe in about a week since the weather is really nice now and this would be my first ever attempt in doing so. I just bought a pc 7424xp and for the polishes I just bought the Optimum hyperspray polish and the Optimum compund spray. For the pads I ordered 2 black pads and 2 orange pads, but I heard if I use the compound, I should use orange with that and then use a white pad for the finishing polish? Also I would be claying my car but the question is do I need to use a cleaner wax? since the previous owner did not really care about the paint job. This is my first time using a machine so any suggestions would really help.

Procedure:
Wash with dawn
Clay
Wash with car shampoo
Compound following with 50/50 IPA wipe down
Polish following with IPA wipe down
Glaze using V2 Wet Glaze cure for an hour
Sealant using Zaino Z2 or Z5 then cure for 24 hrs
And Lastly wax with Purple haze dodo juice

Please correct me if Im wrong with any of these steps. And here are some pics for my current paint.

And if there are any tips you guys would provide to a beginner like me, that would really help .

Also my cousin's car got hit from the side and we were just wondering if it was possible to get that stuff off using compound and polishing.

Thanks and really appreciate it

Last edited by Sarbag510; 05-23-2011 at 12:30 AM.
Old 05-23-2011, 01:41 AM
Needs more Lemon Pledge

Received 2,000 Likes on 1,173 Posts
Your procedure looks OK, although I have NO experience with Zaino so I can't say how well it will layer...