Detailing car for the first time

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2006, 03:11 AM
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Detailing car for the first time

First of all I want to thank all the people who have posted instructions on how to detail your car. I have read as many as I could find and have learned a lot. But because I am new at this whole owning a car I really want to keep the car looking spotless so I wanted to run this by anyone willing to help. From what I have learned from reading the articles I need to do the following things.
1.wash car with Meguiar’s NXT
2.Clay using Clay Magic
3.Polish
4.Wax
On the polish and wax part I am a bit lost. On some threads I read that people are using the Meguiar’s 3 step process. But I have also read that some people think that using the Optimum spray wax is better than the Meguiars. Which leaves which polish brand I should use. or can i just replace the meguiars 3 step with the optimum spray wax. Or should I go for the Zaino process?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 01-27-2006, 06:56 AM
Burning Brakes

You'll hear lots of opinions on which products to use. Try a product that you can get, if buying from a store.

The Optimum spray wax is something you use after going through the whole detailing processs. It's similar to a quick detailer that Meguairs has. It is used for when the car is slighty dust, neither of them are durable.
Old 01-27-2006, 08:41 AM
Instructor

Originally Posted by psyhunter2001
1.wash car with Meguiar’s NXT
I would stay away from Meguiar's NXT wash. If you like Meguiar's, use their Gold Class. I found NXT car wash made my paint markedly less "slippery" and I have been using Mother's Carnauba Gold since with much better results. There are probably even better car washes through mail order, but for retail I would stick with Gold Class or Carnauba Gold.
Old 01-27-2006, 08:50 AM
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post