Acura CL-S Engine Cleaning

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2010, 01:19 AM
Advanced

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Acura CL-S Engine Cleaning

Hey guys, I'd like to give my engine bay a good cleaning sometime soon, but I've never done anything like this before so I've got a couple questions. What specifically has to be covered in my engine bay, and if possible would you guys be able to tell me the location of these items? The car is relatively new to me so I haven't figured out where everything is yet. Other than that, are there any do's/don'ts for somebody new to cleaning an engine bay?

Thanks.
Old 09-04-2010, 01:44 AM
Advanced

It's also a 2001, if that makes any difference.
Old 09-04-2010, 02:55 AM
The Old Grey Whistle Test

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Protection of Electrical Components

The most important electrical components are sealed ‘water resistant’, that is to say against low pressure, water splashing encountered in the course of daily driving conditions. As long as you avoid directing a strong stream of water (or a pressure washer at close range) directly into these components, you will be fine.
You need to cover various parts prior to using any cleaning products, sprays (water deterrent, formula 40(WD-40)) or water.
• Alternator
• Alarm Housing
• Intercooler
• Battery terminals (if not covered already)
• Induction kit cone (if you have one)
• Coil packs
• Electronic control units (ECU)
• On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) port
• Air intake systems (exposed air filters) can be covered with plastic wrap and a rubber band

Notes:
1. This is not an exhaustive list, nor is it marque specific, if in doubt use a water repellent (WD-40) and exercise common sense
2. Use cling-film and then tin foil for the alternator, alarm housing etc as the foil is easier to mould and has greater protection properties. I suggest you use a plastic bag for the induction kit and just wrap it tight over the end to stop any water ingress.