Abrasive rating system

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2005, 02:25 PM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Abrasive rating system

First off let me say that I am a noob and still trying to learn this whole detailing process, and that right now I probably have just enough of an idea of what to do to be dangerous. That being said, I am trying to develop a system for rating what level of polishing power would be needed for different problems, using the products that I have, or may buy in the future.

I recently purchased some Detailing supplies from Exceldetail and a PC from Lowes. (Should be getting the supplies today in the mail). In the supplies that I purchased, I got a "sampler pack" of pads for the PC. Exceldetail rates the pads on the abrasive properties of the pads 0-5 with 0 being a finishing pad and 5 being the most abrasive. (sampler kit has pads ranging from 0-4). I also purchased some SSR1. The SSR series has 4 levels: SSR1, SSR2, SSR2.5, SSR3. SSR1 being light abrasive and SSR3 being heavy duty abrasive (their ratings, not mine).

Here is my thought on the system I am thinking of using. If I am using a Pad that has a 4 rating, and SSR3, that would be a 7 on the abrasive scale and a very abrasive and aggressive combo. Accordingly, if I am using a #1 or #2 pad and SSR1, this will be a 2 or 3 and is going to be a much gentler combo. Of course the combo that would be in use would be determined by how aggressive one wanted to be.

Any thoughts or ideas on this? How to improve it? Scrap it?

Excel - I would very much appreciate your wieghing in on this.

Thanks
Old 07-21-2005, 02:47 PM
Instructor

Damn, tried to edit but did not beat the 5 min rule.

The reason that I am trying to do this is because the polishing step of the detailing process is going to have a dramatic effect on the final out come. And for a newbie, knowing how much is too much can not be over rated in MHO.

Other things I would like feedback on include: