about to clay my car for the first time tommorrow...questions!

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2006 | 09:53 PM
UT Longhorn

about to clay my car for the first time tommorrow...questions!

I have an '06 Black TL and I plan to use a clay bar on it for the very first time early tommorrow morning. I'm pretty new to taking care of cars (I'm only 20 years old) and I've only waxed my car once before. I used "nu finish" and later found out that most people don't recommend it.

I went to Auto Zone a few hours ago and picked up a new microfiber wash mitt, Mother's California Gold Clay Bar, and Meguiar's NXT Generation Tech Wax Paste (I bought this because it seemed like it was the best and most expensive one they had in stock). I already have everything else I need.

I read the threads about claying techniques and I think i'm ready to do it. I just have a few questions.

1) After I use the clay and lubricant, do I just wax over the lubricant (Mother's Instant Detailer)? Or should I wash the car again before I wax?

2) How important is pre-wax cleaner? Do I need to use this before I wax?

Thanks guys...all your replies (hopefully quick replies) are greatly appreciated.
Old 08-02-2006 | 10:01 PM
Racer

Originally Posted by virtualxjk
I have an '06 Black TL and I plan to use a clay bar on it for the very first time early tommorrow morning. I'm pretty new to taking care of cars (I'm only 20 years old) and I've only waxed my car once before. I used "nu finish" and later found out that most people don't recommend it.

I went to Auto Zone a few hours ago and picked up a new microfiber wash mitt, Mother's California Gold Clay Bar, and Meguiar's NXT Generation Tech Wax Paste (I bought this because it seemed like it was the best and most expensive one they had in stock). I already have everything else I need.

I read the threads about claying techniques and I think i'm ready to do it. I just have a few questions.