Sponsored by:

Advice Needed! Buying an used 04 TL

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2009, 08:09 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice Needed! Buying an used 04 TL

Hello all,

I've been looking to buy an used 04~05 TL for about a month and found great one owner (old gentleman) 04 TL and test drove it today.

Exterior and interior are overall great condition with just a few minor items, but when I looked at the engine bay there were some parts that look rusted, but being a non-car expert I'm not sure if it's just normal for a 5 year old used car or not. Other than this specific area, everywhere else in the engine bay looked clean with just some dusts.

Please see pictures below (last two) and I'd appreciate if you guys can let me know if there's anything I need to be concerned.

I also heard a quite loud hmmmm noise when I turned on AC (sounds like AC fan noise or something) and am wondering if it's normal. It seems to disappear after a while.

This car is an one owner 04 TL automatic with NAV with 49k miles located in westsouth VA. No accident history (according to the owner/CarFax verified). The owner had done oil changes at Merchant Tires, and other local shops and nothing special was done other than oil change, tires, and alignment. I checked the color of transmission fluid and it looked light brown.

The car drove nicely overall but found the suspension a bit stiff and the leather seat is kinda firm without enough cushion (compared to leather seat in my wife's Odyssey). I noticed rattle from somewhere a few times when going over bumps.

I'm buying this for $14k. Is this a decent deal?

All advices will be appreciated. I may become a 3rd Gen TL owner very soon!

Old 08-02-2009, 09:03 PM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
looks like normal rust on exhaust manifold, minor surface corrosion on aluminum parts. i have a 04 that looks the same.
cant tell about your blower but the price and the looks of the car are great.