Could my sway bar link cause vibration? [PICTURE]

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2017, 10:40 AM
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Could my sway bar link cause vibration? [PICTURE]

I've had my front sway bar links replaced (along with the steering rack, upper and lower ball joints) and since then my 2003 TL has been vibrating at the steering wheel every time we get to 55mph.

I got underneath the car and checked the ball joints and the steering rack. Nothing looked abnormal.

But then. this is what the driver-side sway bar link looks like:

This link looked bent, under pressure, as if it wanted to rip out of the boot.

Do you think this is the source of the vibration?
Old 11-27-2017, 11:32 AM
Derek

Received 143 Likes on 104 Posts
I am not a mechanic, but if something looks bent/rusted through, especially with the suspension/steering, replace it.

The parts aren't that expensive, go on rockauto.com, there are online discount codes, and just replace what looks like it is worn/bent/damaged.

I had my 02 Accord written off because of a lower ball joint. Cheap part that can save alot of problems if you just replace it.

The vibrations should be a warning to you. Not sure if you are hearing any other noises or not, but for sure, check all the suspension components, tires and steering.
Old 11-27-2017, 11:41 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,584 Likes on 6,630 Posts
Replace it anyway.

May be axles though
Old 11-28-2017, 04:22 AM
Banned

Received 79 Likes on 60 Posts
I only mention this because you said you had your front upper sway links replaced. On some models, it is possible to install the sway bar upside down which causes vibration and often rubbing on other components. It's not always easy to determine which side is up without looking at another similar vehicle.
Old 12-02-2017, 02:13 AM
Cruisin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts