New Member Introductions Welcome! Please introduce yourselves here, BUT ASK FOR HELP IN THE TECHNICAL FORUMS

Engine Oil Consumption

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2018, 10:53 AM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Engine Oil Consumption

My 2011 MDX Elite started to consume engine oil at about 75000 kilometers, about 1.5 years ago. With regular dealership maintenance and some minor warranty work, minus, of course, the fact that the vehicle loves fuel in city driving, my MDX has been a fantastic ride. The dealership is working with me to find the cause of the engine oil consumption. No visible undercarriage leaks and no obvious oil burn discharge from the exhausts. I am a docile driver and have never burdened the engine, even taking acceleration easy when temperatures reach 35C. Working on an oil consumption test with the dealership. The latest update: with 70% engine oil life, the oil level is below the dip-stick tip - which I believe is 0.5 liters from dip-stick end to upper level mark - and 2400 kilometers since the last oil change. Note that during all previous incidents of oil level dropping, I was too scared to burn the engine out, and always topped up when the oil level went below the dip-stick tip. The dealership tells me that 0.5 litre engine loss through the whole 100% life cycle is factory acceptable. My MDX is loosing that much in 30% oil life. I would be much obliged to receive comments, thoughts and advice regarding this matter. Thank you. Harrisroad1
Old 08-02-2018, 11:22 AM
Drifting

Received 849 Likes on 605 Posts