Money & Investing Learn how to get rich on the housing bubble and the bull market…

recent grad looking in options

Old 03-01-2006, 10:30 PM
Engineer

Received 76 Likes on 53 Posts
recent grad looking in options

so i graduated last spring and i am trying to reevaluate how i am saving and spending my money...

i am currently living at home and trying to save up for a condo or townhouse but i would like to know if i have any better options other than putting the money into my savings account... i would ideally like to put down at least 20% down, more if i can put it together...

i am not too familiar with mutual funds or other investment options... I am currently putting some money into my 401k but i dont know whether i should increase that so i may borrow against it when purchasing a home in the next 2 years or to put the money somewhere else... my company does not do any matching but i do get some profit sharing from them each year...

basically i have a few ideas, but i thought i would see what type of advice you guys have to offer... i was fairly annoyed that i could not claim much on my taxes this year and would like to be able to save more money next year...

thanks again in advance...
Old 03-02-2006, 08:25 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Considering you live in Boston, good luck coming up with 20% for a DP. But still, save what you can while you can, but don't borrow against your 401k for a house. That's for retirement.

How long do you plan on staying at home? If it's for a few years I'd say mutual funds are a good bet (unless the market crashes). You don't really wanna use a MF as a short term investment. That's all i got.
Old 03-02-2006, 11:44 AM
ric
Safety Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts