Money & Investing Learn how to get rich on the housing bubble and the bull market…

I'm a Bankruptcy Attorney in CA - AMA

Old 08-25-2010, 07:12 PM
Meat stick

Received 229 Likes on 97 Posts
I'm a Bankruptcy Attorney in CA - AMA

After seeing another thread here regarding credit card debt, and some terrible misinformation therein, I've decided to start this thread.

I'll take questions here regarding bankruptcy. Also, if you have any preconceived notions re: bankruptcy and want to know if they are true, post them up and I'll try to comment on them.

I figure with the way the economy is, and the now record breaking numbers of Americans filing for bankruptcy protection, I can do a little to make the AZ community more well educated on the subject.

While I am a licensed attorney in CA, I cannot know every answer to every question, and there are some answers you need to receive from a local BK attorney to get the best advice. Therefore, be aware that this thread is NOT meant to give legal advice, but rather to help improve understanding of BK matters.

Fire away!
Old 08-25-2010, 08:45 PM
Drifting

Received 220 Likes on 180 Posts
^ I got one:

For the typical individual (not a business). What is the typical liability someone has when they contemplate bankruptcy?

To make this more appropriate for all people, perhaps a years of salary to pay off liabilities factor would be best for us to use. For example, if I owed 500,000 but only make 100,000 I would have a factor of 5. I'm suspecting that most individuals might have a factor of 20+ before contemplating BU but inquiring minds want to know.

Thanks for any enlightenment.
Old 08-25-2010, 09:14 PM
Карты убийцы

Received 125 Likes on 100 Posts
What happen's if you are in the middle of Chapter 13 and lose your job or get divorced? Can you petition the court to refile under Chapter 7? Or will Chapter 13 be redone to pay pennies on the dollar?