When using optical cable for audio...

Old 01-09-2006, 07:33 PM
Safety Car

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
When using optical cable for audio...

Is it worth it to get HDMI cable just for video? Or is the difference neglible enough to get component?
Old 01-09-2006, 07:55 PM
is learning to moonwalk i

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I'm no expert, but if you are going to use HDMI, I think you can just remove the optical.

What are you connecting to what? If you are connecting audio to a receiver and video directly to your monitor, then you could use both.
Old 01-09-2006, 09:14 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,760 Likes on 1,046 Posts
My receiver (like most receivers except the highest end ones) does not have an HDMI input or output.... so I use both cables.

I have the optical audio cable running from my cable box to my receiver and an HDMI cable from my cable box to the TV. This way I get the best of both worlds... great sound and a great picture!!

So to answer your question... IMO it's definitely worth getting the HDMI cable over the component cable.
Old 01-10-2006, 01:27 AM
Safety Car

Too bad the freaking HDMI cable is at least $90...every freaking thing costs sooo much

My home theater budget is blown to shit
Old 01-10-2006, 01:52 AM
I shoot people

Received 2,885 Likes on 1,431 Posts
^^^ya know? when i got bit by the "A/V bug" last year... I went through a phase where I felt like I had to buy the best in everything... or at least... the "higher end"... and I spent a ton of money on cables... but there will be people here (in the forum) that'll tell you that it's not necessary to pay top $$$ for good quality things like cables... so you might wanna do some research before shellin' out a ton of money... just my
Old 01-10-2006, 01:54 AM
I shoot people

oh, and if you really want a good HDMI, I kinda have one for sale... (6ft-I think)
Old 01-10-2006, 01:58 AM
Safety Car

still on the fence if i want HDMI...I'll have to see how much i have left after i buy my TV >_<