REAL hardwood floor installation and maintenance tips

Old 07-22-2005, 10:52 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
REAL hardwood floor installation and maintenance tips

Although far from being an expert, I have two friends who own hardwood flooring installing/sanding/finishing and refinishing services. Earlier in life, I was a fill in grunt who helped out on Saturdays when the normal late teenage grunts got too drunk on Friday night to work on Saturdays. Hence, the call.

Your first step should be to visit a hardwood floor distributor. Not Lowe's, not Home Depot. A distributor will have a far greater selection of not only wood, but subgrades of wood not available at the superstores. For instance, I am in the middle of a condo rehab right now, and although no flooring is involved, my sole choices for wood trim and doors are pine and red oak.

A distributor will have maple, cherry, ash, oak and others. Furthermore (as my experience has been 99% with oak), there is "plain" oak (just like you would buy at Home Depot) vs. "quarter sawn" oak, an oak where more "highlights" (I like to call them "flecks") of the grain is exposed. It is a little more expensive, but it is prettier. In my view, a genuine hardwood floor should be looked upon as a long term investment. You're going to be looking at it for a long, long time. No sense saving a couple of bucks up front over a period of 30 years.

Either way, even a standard hardwood floor will look just fine. I am just trying to let you know there are options out there.

After all of the old floor coverings are gone and disposed of, assuming you have a nice level surface, vacuum everything until it is squeaky clean. Now, measure your square feet and go buy your wood and bring it home. Ready to do your installing? Chomping at the bit to get going? Well, no.