Driver's side plastic under seat broken.Dealer denies warranty ,reason- "user error"

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2017, 07:01 PM
Instructor

Received 35 Likes on 15 Posts
Driver's side plastic under seat broken.Dealer denies warranty ,reason- "user error"

Hi all,

I own a Acura TLX 2.4, 2.5 years & 24K miles.

Driver's side plastic under seat is broken somehow, please see attached photo(semicircular breakage) .

Dealership says "user error & allege - I have been sitting slightly on the side" & won't cover cost of repair.

I told/asked the service guy the following:
  1. I have been driving for the past 18 years, have owned multiple cars(cheaper than Acura), none have shown this kind of breakage.
  2. I have not danced or jumped on the seat & have done exactly what should be done on a seat i.e. SIT on it.
  3. Hence, Is there a guideline by Acura on how to sit on the seat?
  4. I am not an overweight person, lighter than average and it should not break.
  5. Why don't you(service guy) talk to Acura and tell me what they say? His response - That's not my job!!
  6. Finally frustrated, I told him I will talk to Acura directly.
When I was talking to the parts guy he said, "He has seen many such failures", which to me meant it's a Acura design issue.

The service guy could have have just said "I'm sorry, sir we cannot cover this as we believe this is user error. We will be happy to cover it after you talk to Acura directly". Instead, he came off very aggressive right from the beginning when I had not even talked once to him(felt like he was defensive & his method of defense was aggression) & rude & totally illogical.

Very very disappointed. For me, it's not about the money but it feels like I'm being taken advantage of when I have paid for a 4 year bumper to bumper warranty without any fault of my own.

Gurus,Are there any guidelines on how to talk to Acura? Thanks guys/gals.