Dating & Relationships Love sucks. Now you can cry about it…

Career vs Personal Life?

Old 05-03-2010, 02:12 PM
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Career vs Personal Life?

Before I begin, I just want to say thanks ahead of time for reading my post and whatever advice you guys have to offer. I'm hoping to get some insight from those of you that are older than me (I'm 21) and have probably faced the same dilemma some point in your life. I'll try to keep this as short and simple as possible.

But basically, I'm a recent college graduate and at a point in my life where I'm being forced to choose my career over my personal life a lot. Right now, I'm not in school anymore, but will be taking additional courses that my employer requires. I also have a couple of opportunities that could potentially be very valuable in my professional career. However, I'm finding myself having to prioritize my career over my personal life. My gf (ex now) and I broke up recently because of both of our careers. We received job offers in different cities, so we've been in a long distance relationship for 4 or 5 months now. Logically, it made a lot of sense to break up, but I'm still trying to figure out if it was the best decision or not. At the same time, one of the opportunities that is available to me right now will take time away from me visiting my family. My parents are divorced and live in two different states as me, so finding time has always been difficult. This summer would have been a good time to see them, had this new opportunity not come up.