Procedure to: Buy car in different state; take back to home state?

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2009, 05:06 PM
'02 S2000

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Procedure to: Buy car in different state; take back to home state?

Hey guys, this is my first time buying my own car and wasn't sure how to approach and prepare to buy a car from a different state, and was hoping to get some advice/help from you guys.

I'm planning on picking up a S2000 in Georgia . I live in Louisiana. I plan on flying over there to pick it up and paying for it with a Cashiers Check from a private owner. What should I expect in terms of title, registration, taxes, and tag?

Do I get the title transferred while I'm in Georgia? What about the Registration and taxes? Usually a seller has to remove their license plate before selling, so would I have to drive back to Louisiana without a plate? I'm also pretty concerned about taxes, which state do I pay the taxes?

Thanks for any help guys! I plan on picking up the S next week!!! WHOOO!
Old 08-12-2009, 05:15 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
It varies by state, but usually you would pay for a transfer/temp plate (out of state tag) in Georgia (either a paper you stick on the back window or a cardboard license plate or something). The title is signed and notarized by seller (and most likely, you, the buyer, also), but the transfer isn't completed until you go back to LA. You'll probably need proof of insurance to get this stuff.

When you get back to LA, you transfer it however you would in that state into your name with the signed title and pay for the registration and taxes however its done in LA.

Good luck with the transfer and have a safe and fun drive back to LA.
Old 08-12-2009, 06:58 PM
'02 S2000

Originally Posted by mrdeeno