Stock charging system question...

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2003, 06:48 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stock charging system question...

Can the stock charging system provide the necessary current for a JL 450/4 and a JL 1000/1?

I've already got a 1 farad cap but it's obvious that it makes very little difference based on what the JBL BP 1200.1 is pulling.

Every time the IDMAX hits, so do my lights. I think the stock alternator is 120amps.

Any suggestions concerning upgrading the system to withstand the current draw of these amps?

Thanks.
Old 08-11-2003, 11:14 PM
Intermediate

go with an optima red top battery
Old 08-11-2003, 11:26 PM
Drifting

yellow top would be better..dont know how much that would help tho...i have one but i dont know what thje benifits are....all i know is it can be fully drained and rechaeged withut damage...i dont think that would help your headlights....im no expert but from what i read....a rewound alternator or a second battery is the way to go...i have a second battery...the yellow top...i have no problems with dimming headlights...altho my system isnt that large..im just paranoid...im running a 1500bd btw

oh...and the only downside ive found to the battery is the extra weight
Old 08-12-2003, 04:33 PM
Racer

Originally posted by njtls
yellow top would be better..dont know how much that would help tho...i have one but i dont know what thje benifits are....all i know is it can be fully drained and rechaeged withut damage...i dont think that would help your headlights....im no expert but from what i read....a rewound alternator or a second battery is the way to go...i have a second battery...the yellow top...i have no problems with dimming headlights...altho my system isnt that large..im just paranoid...im running a 1500bd btw

oh...and the only downside ive found to the battery is the extra weight
How and where did you mount the second battery? I'm guessing in the trunk. Do you have details on how you did it?