TL: Replacing Bose w/ Aftermarket HU Quick Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 02:35 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing Bose w/ Aftermarket HU Quick Questions

Hey guys, brand new here so this is my first post haha. I have a few quick questions regarding replacing the stock bose system in my 2003 acura tl with an aftermarket head unit. As of right now I have stock speakers and bose system and a 12' cvr and amp in the trunk. So I am just hoping to gain some knowledge about simply replacing the head unit and powering the speakers. I am not worried about retaining use of the 9' stock subwoofer.

What is required to replace the bose system with an aftermarket HU whilist retaining use of the stock speakers?

From what i've seen so far I would need a wiring harness and also a mold so that the hu will fit into the dash. I have also seen mixed things on how the speakers will sound with a new headunit... I am new to all car audio as I'm 16 and would just like to know if I would run into any difficulties with what I am planning to do.

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-15-2010, 04:46 PM
Banned

Received 113 Likes on 91 Posts
Originally Posted by MattySnags
Hey guys, brand new here so this is my first post haha. I have a few quick questions regarding replacing the stock bose system in my 2003 acura tl with an aftermarket head unit. As of right now I have stock speakers and bose system and a 12' cvr and amp in the trunk. So I am just hoping to gain some knowledge about simply replacing the head unit and powering the speakers. I am not worried about retaining use of the 9' stock subwoofer.

What is required to replace the bose system with an aftermarket HU whilist retaining use of the stock speakers?