Polk DX6 - unbelievable difference

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2002, 05:06 PM
9th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Polk DX6 - unbelievable difference

After reading all of the posts on audio upgrades, I figured I would give the DX6 speaker upgrade a try before doing anything else. I added the terminator mod along with the tweeter mod on the front speakers, and installed them in my TL in a couple of hours (really very easy to do). The audio quality is astounding compared to the stock Blows system that I have been listening to for over 2 years now. It is absolutely amazing. Anyone out there who is having any second thoughts about this upgrade - DON"T! It is absoultely the easiest, most satisfying quick fix I have ever done. My thanks to Southbound and Iggy for the inspiration!

Next week I'm putting in the RMB8s with a new amplifier - I can't wait!
Old 11-01-2002, 05:50 PM
Instructor

I also got mine in yesterday, Thanks to TopGum, SouthBound and Iggy

My only concern is not much noticable increase in volume ?

I noticed I have to turn up the treble a bit when in the front seats

Overall, very good sound quality

Phil
Old 11-02-2002, 09:52 AM
Three Wheelin'

speaker will not increase in volume, amplifier does...you changed the speakers, and you're expecting a wrong thing. Common sense here!!
Old 11-02-2002, 10:43 AM
Instructor

I echo cyber1ed's comments. We all owe a big debt of gratitude to Southbound - without his research and legwork, we'd all still be listening to the Blose speakers or trying to make other speakers fit (not an easy task).

The high frequency rolloff mod (resistor/cap) is the icing on the cake - otherwise, the high frequencies would be WAY too bright, given the EQ circuitry which tries to make the full-range Blose speakers sound decent.

Cheers to you, Southbound!
Old 11-02-2002, 12:37 PM
Banned

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post