Noob Needs Advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 08:29 PM
Azine's only Punk PFC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noob Needs Advice

Ok, I'm new to this whole forum thing and already clicked "submit new thread" once. So please bear with me....

I'm looking for all advice on subwoofers, I already have an aftermarket system consisting of:
Kenwood head unit, model# KDC-MP 4032
Polk Commponent Speakers, db 6500 (front and back)
A Profile HA1040 Amp
As well as non factory wiring and the Scosche wire that goes from the amp to the battery (the name is eluding me right now) that came with the kit from crutchfield.

Anyways, I would like opinoins on how to best pick out the right stuff for my car.
I know that I want 2 10 inch polk momo subs, and that I will need some kind of capacitor thing (that keeps my lights from dimming during big notes)

What I really would like to know is how hard could this really be to do?
I installed the current system with a wee little bit of help from my dad who has done speaker installations in most every car he ever owned. He has never installed subs before.... and he personally doesn't care to see them in his sons car....

I was also hoping to build my own box for the subs. But I've heard the words fiberglass used alot and don't complete understand how it's used. And is there a diffrence in sound quality? Also if I was to make a wood box, does it matter what kind of plywood and where do you find the trunk carpet to cover the box? Also what would be the coolest way create the box? I was thinking I might make it with 3 faces (the center and then 2 angled w/ the subs)and enclose the back of the trunk. instead of just sitting a box in it.

If you would be looking down on it it would look like this:

BACKSEATS

*******_X-overs__________Amp___
******|........................................... .....|
******|.......... _____________...........|
WHEEL |.SUB/***************\SUB.| WHEEL
******|...../*****************\......|