A couple dumb questions on installation.

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 02:02 AM
failhard.

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
A couple dumb questions on installation.

Alright so I got an all-Rockford system waiting to be installed .. Well, my 6.5's are on backorder still .. The list is below; is there anything else I need to bring to a shop to be installed by them? Like maybe a couple of RCA connectors? Or do they supply them and charge me later? I'm a complete newbie at audio, so I'm asking dumb questions here rather than be laughed at by a local shop or something. That said, I'd rather not install the system myself; as new as I am at this, I'm afraid all the money I spent on this will go to waste if I mess something up.

BTW general car audio installation quotes from various shops would be great too if you guys are within arm's reach of them. I'll do my own "shopping," but it's nice to cheat so I can gather the money.

Here's a list if it helps ..

Rockford Fosgate Punch P450.4 Multi-Channel Amp
JVC Arsenal KD-AR870 MP3 Player
Rockford Fosgate Punch P162S 6.5"Component Speaker System [ on backorder ]
Rockford Fosgate Power T1692C 6x9 2-Way Speaker
Rockford Fosgate Type RF CP4POS Amplifier Wiring Kit
Scosche AA1574 Car Stereo Installation Kit
Scosche HA08 Car Stereo Wiring Harness
Scosche Connector Kit In-Dash Receiver Accessory
Old 01-03-2007, 04:09 PM
failhard.

no input? surely someone has had experience in bringing their CL-S to an audio shop. =/

BTW should I take out the backseat to make it easier for them?
Old 01-03-2007, 04:15 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
An install shop would never use those wire kits and scosche units, they'd just use their own stuff and splice right into the wires they need. The fact that you've already bought all that equipment (and kits!), boy, you really should consider doing it yourself!

I mean, look at the quote in your own sig!!