V6 throttle response?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2014, 09:42 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
V6 throttle response?

Hi all,

I've been following this forums for the past few weeks and I'm almost about to take the plunge on a V6 TLX Advance...

To the V6 owners out there - are you happy with the throttle response? When I test drove it I did feel that it did take a few moments after hitting the gas, but I've seen mention of the transmission 'learning' - is this something you've noticed or is it just a matter of getting used to it?
Old 12-16-2014, 10:34 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 400 Likes on 282 Posts
I am a leisurely driver and the throttle response is just fine for me, even using ECON mode in city traffic.
Old 12-17-2014, 04:58 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,092 Likes on 714 Posts
I have no issues with throttle response in Normal mode, but have been driving in Sport and the car jumps.

I am guessing the OP is exaggerating about it taking a few moments to respond. The only time the car seems to not quite get it, will hesitate for a second or 2, is when I'm driving 25-30 and then give it more pedal. It's not abnormal though, a lot of vehicles are unsure how much to downshift at those speeds. The 9 speed does figure it out and gets moving. Sport mode seems to fix that though.
Old 12-17-2014, 05:14 AM
Pro

Received 197 Likes on 111 Posts
After about 700 miles of babying, I started experimenting. It can go zero-60 like a rocket if you punch it, and depending on what gear and what speed you are going, if you all of a sudden punch it, there is a slight lag when it drops gears out of the overdrive gears. But that is barely more than the time it took my TL Type S to drop gears. Upshifting normally is very smooth for me. I love the transmission, and it helps the car get great mileage.
Old 12-17-2014, 06:45 AM
2015 TLX SH-AWD Elite BWP

Received 69 Likes on 51 Posts
I'm one that complain about that and during my test drive i feel it that delay.