tire help/advise

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2017, 01:14 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
tire help/advise

Hi. I purchased my 2012 base Tl about 2 years ago. I'm a very spirited driver. My car had stock Brdgestones. I test drove some that had different tires and I forgot what they were. Fast forward 2 years I go shopping come out to a tire flat and looked like it had a 4 inch slit. I had Khomo Ecsta ASX on my previous Infiniti ( also front wheel drive ) and they were awesome. They're not made anymore so I did research and went with the ecsta 4x11. Ok. Idk but I use to be able to fly around people on a two lane. Put in sport mode and go. These tires have faster get go but they roll forever. So now I just floor it to do what I did in sport mode as sport mode does nothing now. I liked using it. I guess I became accustomed. I feel like at 60 I'm going 60 where as before felt like 30. The steering has a biiggr turning radius now when parking , pulling out of driveway. Looser feel. Bit I guess more responsive. Small curves I use to take at 40-45 now Kind of lean sideways type feel. I'm not the person who can just say " i'll gt use to it. I don't drie often so when I do it better be fun. Oh. I must say I really got to push them yeaterday ( as I had a Dr app and had 20 min to et 10 miles in heavy traffic. I'll say it started raining and I think it drove better in the rain? Can someone please give me some suggestions on what other tire may be better suited to my style? It may be that they roll to much?
Old 06-03-2017, 01:16 PM
Cruisin'

Sorry about the typos.
Old 06-04-2017, 09:49 AM
Safety Car

Received 486 Likes on 249 Posts
Since you live in Florida, I would ditch the all-season tires and get summer tires. You will see a significant increase in grip.

The higher up the chain you go in performance, the softer the compounds (Ultra High Performance Summer vs Max Performance Summer, etc). So they will wear quicker. But that's the tradeoff you will have to give.