Bad alternator bearings...should turning the pulley tell me...?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2021, 11:36 PM
Clueless at Any Speed

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Bad alternator bearings...should turning the pulley tell me...?

Hi Folks,
2010 TL w/Tech, FWD.

I think I've got bad alternator bearings. But....
History:
Heard a funny noise. It doesn't QUITE match any noise anyone has posted online for any normal thing.
I posted about it. (I'm starting a new post because the old one is too old and too many red herrings to be useful now.)
Consensus reply was bad tensioner pulley. I replaced that--same noise.
With the serpentine belt off, the noise disappears. Back on? Noise.
With a long screwdriver pressed to the alternator housing, it feels/sounds like the smoking gun, but I'm not an expert.
No problems seen with the electrical system; no noticeable effects of any kind other than the noise.
I'll take any opinions, but I do have a specific question.
Many people seem to say if the alternator bearings are making a noise like that (i.e., failing), if I remove the belt and turn the alternator pulley with my hand, I should be able to hear something, or feel something a little rough, sticky, or grinding.
But no, it's as smooth and quiet as can be. Nothing.
If the alternator bearings are going, would I necessarily be able to detect it by turning the pulley?
Put another way, how likely or unlikely is it that it could really be the alternator bearings despite my NOT noticing anything when I turn the alternator pulley by hand?
Thanks!
Old 05-04-2021, 04:37 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,014 Likes on 1,433 Posts
when you turn the bearing by hand there is no lateral load. The belt has a lot of tension and load on the bearing so that may be enough to cause the issue.
Old 05-06-2021, 02:00 AM
Clueless at Any Speed

Originally Posted by csmeance