Axles - OEM or aftermarket

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2016, 11:22 PM
Racer

Received 31 Likes on 22 Posts
Axles - OEM or aftermarket

One of my axles on my 2010 TL has had the clicking noise while turning for a while (however, only when below 60 degrees before the car warms up, the boots were still intact), so I simply put it off until now because I want the issue resolved before it gets cold.

I ordered OEM axles from Bernardi Acura parts, but they are out of stock and American Honda is on national back order with them being available first week of October (Estimated). I've never done axles on a car before -- I would like to keep my TL another 100k to 200k miles. Should I wait it out for OEM parts to come or would after-market ones last just as long as OEMs? I've read on the 3G forums that some aftermarket axles were leaking/didn't fit exactly right/wore out quickly. Have people had similar issues on their 4G TL? I haven't been able to really find a thread on axles on 4G TL's.

Costwise, it isn't a huge issue for me (Maybe $100 or so difference between OEM and aftermarket, which isn't a ton considering these parts should last a long time) It's just a matter of waiting for the parts to be in stock or going aftermarket.
Old 09-01-2016, 01:26 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,011 Likes on 1,430 Posts
OEM Axles are built better from a longevity and comfort point of view. You can go aftermarket but they may lack the dynamic dampers that are on the OEM axles to prevent vibrations when accelerating. With that said, some companies do rebuild axles! Raxles.com is a website that charges $220 + Tax + Shipping per side for the 3G TL so that might help get you a price idea for the 4G TL. They reuse the dampers and rebuild the axles in Florida and have a great warranty. Number of 3G folks including myself have been satisfied with them vs the $600+ per axle acura wants for the 2004-2006TL and 2003-2005 Honda Accord.

Last edited by csmeance; 09-01-2016 at 01:30 AM.